A Day in Frankfurt

After landing in Strasbourg at the end of my trip, I was faced with three choices— a six-hour bus back to Paris, two, six-hour buses to London, or a four-hour bus to Frankfurt. I decided to venture into unknown territory and cross the German border. I spent a horrible day at an airport hotel before heading for the city and a homestay. My trip to Germany instantly turned around, and I had a wonderful time visiting Frankfurt for a day and a half. Fortunately, between my homestay host and a group of friendly locals, I had plenty of recommendations on where to go.

ktie’s

kties
k’tie’s main seating area courtesy of k-ties.de

This French-inspired bakery makes the perfect brunch spot to enjoy freshly prepared cakes, quiches, salads, and the ever present German Apfeltorte (“apple pie”)—there’s something for everyone. I enjoyed a slice of their chocolate tart (absolutely divine). The gracious hostess smiled and blinked like Jeannie at our every encounter. Make sure to get there early!  By two o’clock when I arrived, cakes and tarts were all they had left. You’ll be lucky to score the window seat where you can watch the passersby on Textorstraße.

Deutsches Filmmuseum

film
My souvenir from Deutsches Filmmuseum. It plays the Pink Panther theme song!

Just a short walk from k’tie’s I found the Deutsches Filmmuseum. One of my favorite films, Metropolis, happens to be German and is considered one of the most influential films in history. The permanent exhibition takes you on a journey from peep shows, kaleidoscopes, cinématographea and mutoscopes to the green room (my favorite!), sound effects, and soundtracks. I was pleasantly surprised to find a genuine copy of the Metropolis score. You will doubtless found a souvenir or artifact from your favorite film. The museum also features a temporary exhibition and shows several full-length feature films in the basement every day. Film lovers could easily make a day of it.

Schreiber Heyne

germanfood
Frankfurt Schnitzel and Apfelwein from Schreiber Heyne courtesy of yelp.com

After a few hours at the film museum, it was time for dinner! Unbeknownst to me at the time of booking, Sachsenhausen is the food capital of Frankfurt. I was eager to try the local specialties, Apfelwein (apple wine) and Frankfurt Schnitzel. After scouring through reviews, I settled on Schreiber-Heyne. While some of the other restaurants in the area are more popular, Schreiber-Heyne maintains the highest reviews and for good reason. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. The staff seated me right away and answered all of my questions about the menu in English. I enjoyed a hearty meal of two schnitzel patties over a plate of fried potatoes and plenty of Frankfurt sauce, all washed down with a tall glass of Apfelwein. Though I was starving when I arrived, I couldn’t finish the meal to save my life. Delicious! It’s a spot frequented by locals, too.

If you go

k’tie’s http://www.k-ties.de/  Textorstraße 81, 60594 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Deutsches Filmmuseum http://deutsches-filminstitut.de/en/filmmuseum/ Schaumainkai 41, 60596 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Schreiber Heyne http://www.schreiber-heyne.de/ Mörfelder Landstr. 11 60598 Frankfurt, Germany

Where to Stay

Frankfurt hotels offer pretty cheap rates in comparison to most hotels. I was stranded for a full day and night at an airport hotel that I would not recommend.

Instead, I’d opt for homestay.com. There’s a great homestay in the Sachsenhausen area with an American-German family. The accommodation suits solo travelers. There’s no kitchen use, but what’s to worry with so many wonderful restaurants nearby.

What to Do

Museumsufer

Fortunately for tourists, most of Frankfurt’s museums are lined up in a near-straight line on an embankment on Schaumainkai bordering the Main river, called Museumsufer. If the film museum doesn’t pique your interest, you’re sure to find one that does. Across the embankment, you’ll find even more museums, including an archaeological museum and a museum of Frankfurt’s history.

Museumsufer Schaumainkai https://www.frankfurttourismus.de/en/Media/Attractions/Parks/Museumsufer

Dreikönigskirche

A beautiful gothic church, Dreikönigskirche, originally built in the 14th century, but demolished and rebuilt in 1875. It’s worth a visit if you make it to the museum area.

Dreikönigskirche http://www.hdk-dkk.de/ Dreikönigsstraße 32, 60594 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

 

2 thoughts on “A Day in Frankfurt

Leave a Reply

