When to Take On Cheap Travel

My flight to France costs $229 and probably the only reason I was able to afford going to France this summer. If you’re wondering whether cheap travel is for you, here are a few things to consider:

When you can tolerate pain and suffering – My body ached throughout my entire trip and it was due not only to the cheap seats I scored, but also the time and amount of travel I did to save, taking buses and hopping on multiple short flights as opposed to one grand long flight in business class. If you are short or don’t have extraordinarily long legs, than you may be able to hack it.

When you’re traveling ground and need Wi-Fi. Much to my surprise when it came to internet access, the buses had trains beat. My trip on Ouibus, while hampered by a full bus of snoring passengers and mysterious smells, had seamless WiFi from start to finish. I was actually able to get some work done. Though my trip on SNCF, was much faster, I stared out of the window on the open country side wishing I’d packed a book in my carryon.

If you can fit everything in your carry-on.  The most important thing to remember about cheap airlines is that you’ll have to pay a very hefty fee for any bags (even your 1st), so I planned to bring everything in a carry-on.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that the cheap airlines I used, Wow Air (Iceland) and Norwegian, were not sticklers about the carry-on weight and size requirements. In fact, as long as your carry-on luggage looked remotely like a carry-on, you were allowed no questions asked.

I suspect this may be a different case if and when the flight is full, which neither of mine were.

All said and done, I’d probably avoid cheap travel unless I had to get somewhere and that was the only way I could afford it. I felt horrible throughout my trip because I traveled so extensively and so poorly (I could’ve used a good night’s sleep in business class) and missed out on souvenirs because I didn’t have room in my carry-on. However, if you’re making a quick trip that doesn’t require a lot of travel, a cheap airline may be right for you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

