Cheap Travel Review: Ouibus, Norwegian and WOW Air

I recently took a trip to Paris, Strasbourg, Honfleur and Kehl (Germany) via Norway and Iceland. Did I mention that was all in 6 days?! All in all, I spent less than $2,000 including airfare and minus extensive planning (I bought my return ticket 3 days before I left)—only possible with cheap travel services below.

Ouibus

Pros – Friendly staff, excellent Wifi

Ouibus (formerly ID bus) was the only way I was going to get from Paris to Strasbourg for a reasonable price. Our driver was amazingly friendly, given the late hour. The trip was pleasant; the Wi-Fi was impeccable and the bus wasn’t full, so I got 2 seats to myself.

Cons- Long and uncomfortable

Given that my trip was from midnight to 6am., I naively expected to get some shut eye and boy was that hard, even with 2 seats! It could just be me, because the guy next to me sure had no trouble sleeping as was evidenced by his snores.

Overall, Ouibus was pleasant, our trip was on time and I’d probably take it again just not after a 14-hour flight.

FEB 2017 UPDATE: I took Ouibus again last month and it was just as fabulous as the first time! I also took Flixbus. Check out my Ouibus vs Flixbus comparison here.

Norwegian

Pros – In-flight entertainment and Drinks

I was pleasantly surprised to find that I still got drinks and in-flight entertainment on low-price carrier, Norwegian.

Cons – Service, Timeline, Meal system

Sadly, that is where my happiness with Norwegian ends. The Ouibus driver beat the Norwegian flight attendants in every point of customer service. Also, the fact that you have to purchase your food online before the flight or starve is ridiculous!

I had high hopes for Norwegian, but because they’re among the more expensive low-cost airlines, I will probably never fly them again, even if I go to Scandinavia.

WOW Air

Pros – Impeccable Service

The flight attendants on WOW Air are something else. Not only are they beautiful and stylish, but incredibly kind and made, what was otherwise a very unpleasant flight experience, tolerable.

Cons – Inflight entertainment, card services

The payment system was broken on WOW Air, which meant no food without cash. The only option for in-flight entertainment was an $18 iPad you could rent with 6 movies on it. If there was any leg of the trip that I was ready to pull my hair out, it was this one.

I would really love to say I’d fly WOW again, but I don’t think I could bear it again no matter how nice the flight attendants are.

FEB 2017 UPDATE: I did it again. Yes, I did. I took WoW Air. In the time since my last flight, Netflix decided we should all be able to download videos and this made my flight 100x more bearable. Staff was amazing as always. Yet, I’m still telling myself I don’t know if I can do this again (this = cramped quarters, limited food & entertainment, next to cranky passengers, etc.,)

Have you ever used Ouibus, Norwegian or WOW Air—What was your experience?

One thought on “Cheap Travel Review: Ouibus, Norwegian and WOW Air

Leave a Reply

